Archive for September, 2017
The Frances A. Knapp house was built in 1881 from land purchased the previous year from Samuel B. Rindge, father of Frederick, who donated the money for Cambridge City Hall and the rusticated Main Library. One of the City’s earliest examples of a full-blown Queen Anne, the house is an architectural jewel, resplendent in its delightful combination of shingles, decorative details, its unique oriel. Original interior detail has been retained. The fireplace mantels in the living room and dining room are lovely, as are the newels on the Victorian staircase. The pocket doors slide with ease. A surprisingly large kitchen has the traditional second set of stairs. French doors from the dining room to the deck provide a view of the yard, surrounded by flower beds and shielded from the street by the vine-covered pergola which also serves as cover for the 2 side-by-side parking spaces. The 5 bedrooms are generously sized with good natural light; one bathroom is en suite. Near the T/everything!